top of page
Featured Review

The Thousandth Floor


The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee is a not so classic murder mystery novel. We are introduced to the characters by the ending - someone falls off the top of the thousandth floor of the Tower to their death. McGee uses multiple points of view to explain what happened and how this person died, while also allowing the reader to guess the possible victim. As we are pulled into the future New York City, it is revealed that the area that used to be central park now inhabits a thousand floor tower, called the Tower. This tower has everything for its occupants, including schools, spas, clubs, shopping centers, apartments, and more.

We follow our main characters: Avery, Leda, Eris, Rylin, and Watt - all occupants of the Tower and all possible victims. As we learn more about their lives, and how they're all connected, we learn that things aren't always as they seem. Each of them are keeping secrets and putting their reputation, and life, at risk.

When I read the first chapter that was it. I was sucked in. I wanted to know who died and how and I couldn't avoid picking this book up. Every chance I had to read what happened, I did. When I realized it was multiple points of view, five to be exact, I was afraid I was going to get lost or confused. Surprisingly, not only did I not get lost, but the multiple POVs worked really well for the story! I like how they added a sense of mystery and also allowed the reader to get to know the different characters better, without being able to guess who dies until the last minute.

I also enjoyed the plot and character arcs from beginning to end - I think sometimes authors have an issue keeping track of characters and making sure they all experience a solid arc, but McGee has no issue. All of her characters have their own fleshed out subplots and their character arcs are not only complete, but engaging. I wanted to find out what happened next with every page turn and new clue.

I didn't have any dislikes or things I would change about the book. I think McGee wrote an amazing murder mystery using multiple POVs and pulled it off stunningly!

I would give this book a 5/5 star review for the amazing plot, intriguing characters, and for pulling it off in an intricate way.

If you like murder mysteries with multiple POVs, I would recommend Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte which is out in February 2019!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page