top of page
Featured Review

The Raven Boys


Hey guys! Today I will be reviewing The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater! Currently I have read books 1 and 2 but don't worry, I'll only be talking about Book 1 and this review, as always, is SPOILER FREE!!!

Blue has always been told that if she kisses her true love, they will die. Ever since she was a child every psychic she's visited, family included, has told her this. Gansey is on the hunt for Glendower, a long dead king. Adam is just trying to survive Aglionby and get through school so that he can become successful. Ronan wants nothing to do with anything, except defending his friends and helping them find Glendower. When these four find each other - its a magical quest like no other.

When I saw the cover for this book, I definitely judged it off that. I thought this book was going to be high fantasy, but it is most definitely Urban Fantasy. The story and how it's written makes you feel like this story could be true, or realistic fiction even, but those dashes of fantasy make the story line pop and kept me interested. That being said, I loved the plot a lot! I enjoyed Stiefvater's characters a lot; all of them are witty, fun, entertaining, and most importantly, human.

While I loved the plot idea, I thought that the pacing was a bit slow, especially for an urban fantasy. Even with the occasional choppy pacing, I was still pulled into the world and loved getting to know the legends and characters Stiefvater throws our way. I love the tough girl aspect of Blue, the angst of Gansey, and the quiet, mysteriousness of Ronan. If you're looking for a strong urban fantasy, with quirky and brooding characters, here's your jackpot!

So to keep this like all my other reviews, here is my breakdown of stars! I gave this book 4.5/5 stars!

So here is how I got my rating:

I give reviews based on five separate categories: plot, characters, description, pace, and extras. Each point earns a total of 1 star - which is what gives my five star rating.

Plot: 1/1 stars

The plot of this book is not only unique and captivating, but down to earth enough that I don't feel like I'm being swung by a fantasy rope around until my head falls off. The relationship the plot forces onto these characters is what makes it even more enjoyable and realistic.

Characters: 1/1 stars

The characters are all fun and witty in their own ways. They are realistic enough that I can enjoy reading about their adventures without them all blending together, especially the boys. Each are interesting enough on their own and it makes the series that much stronger. Granted, I've only read books 1 and 2, but so far, their strong relationship, humanity, and distinct personalities make them so fun to travel with.

Description: 1/1 stars

Stiefvater's writing is amazing; I love how in depth she goes into the world and what is going on around the characters, without over describing. It's definitely not The Grapes of Wrath with the long expanse of desert, but with the same sophistication and details in her settings. Stiefvater's world is realistic yet fantastical and her vision makes it all the more interesting.

Pace: 0.5/1 stars

I think the one downfall of this book was the pacing. I thought there were some parts that were too slow and it was hard to get through. Meanwhile, other sections where was being whipped around and enjoying the ride. I think the inconsistency works for some parts of the book, but not everywhere.

Extras: 1/1 star

I'm a fantasy slut, what can I say? If there is fantasy, and it's done well, I'm going to love it! With this book, the fantastical elements mixed with historical fiction are what brings the book together and keeps it from being a contemporary love story.

Overall, the books were fun and fantastical, even for an urban fantasy, and I'm excited to see what happens next in Blue Lily, Lily Blue! Let me know what you thought of the book in the comments below!

Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page